A Trout Story Through The Eyes Of A Student

Rainbow Trout

By Krish

When I was in the 4th grade in Mrs. Scharfenkemp’s class we had rainbow trout for a class pet. We got them at a rainbow trout reservation when they were still in their eggs. The people who gave us the trout would come to our class and teach us about the trout.

When they got too big to keep, we had to let them go into a lake. Mrs. Scharfenkemp told the class that we were going to release them on a weekend and could release them with her and the 2 men who gave us them. When I asked my mom to go she said “yes” and my sister wanted to come as well.

The day we released them was a bright and sunny day. When we got these, they had multiple lakes which amazed me. We went to one of them and parked our car and went to the dock. While the 2 men were getting the fish, my friends and I were throwing rocks. We trying find flat rocks so when we them they could skip.

When they brought the fish out thy told us to get in a line to release them. So as soon as he finished talking, we all raced to get in a line to release them. When my turn was coming up I was both sad and happy. I was happy because they could be free in the wild and I was sad because we couldn’t take of them anymore.

One by one we released them some would swim away and some would wait for their friends. When we were done releasing the trout my friends and I were playing with sea shells. We were acting like doctors and smashing them rocks. When it was time to go I said “bye” to my friends and left.

I will never forget the time with my class and I took care of rainbow trout. This is a real “fish story”.

trout release 3

Chris  Scharfenkamp teaches at Lorin Eden Elementary in Hayward and is sponsored by Mission Peak Fly Anglers

About Ethan Rotman

Ethan Rotman (Bayareatic) manages and coordinates programs that hatch fish in classrooms for the San Francisco Bay Area. He also chairs the committee that manages these programs throughout the state. Ethan has worked with the California Department of Fish and Wildlife for over 20 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comment

